Rhode Island Freshman State Championships Results

Barrington High School has been known for producing some of the best boys in the country in recent years. But yesterday they showed that they next generation of girls might just be from Barrington too. Annika Kelly (Barrington, RI) and Sydney Polando (Barrington, RI) both threw personal bests to finish first and second at the Rhode Island Freshman State Championship. Kelly is also ranked as the nation’s top freshman, while Polando is the fourth best freshman. In the boy’s competition Jacob Furland (Classical, Providence, RI) was just under his personal best to squeeze out a close win over personal best efforts from Ryan Morel (Bishop Hendricken, Warwick, RI) and Brian Neal (Rogers, Newport, RI).

           Boys Freshman State Championships 
          Westerly High School, Westerly, RI
                Tuesday  May 24, 2016     


Boys 12# Hammer Throw (Top 10 – 24 threw)
    Name               Year School             Finals
  1 Jacob Furland        FR Classical          167-03
  2 Ryan Morel           FR B.Hendricken       166-11
  3 Brian Neal           FR Rogers             159-09
  4 Derin Paskanik       FR Woonsocket         153-10
  5 Isiah Shepard        FR Central            141-01
  6 Juan Ceron           FR Woonsocket         134-01
  7 Andrew Ahlborg       FR N.Kingstown        128-07 
  8 Montaner Fresilli    FR S.Kingstown        119-07 
  9 Tayvon Pimental      FR Pilgrim            109-10 
 10 Jared Hemond         FR Lincoln            107-00 
Winning series – Furland:
167-03  Foul  161-05  Foul  163-05  SFL
         Girls Freshman State Championships
         Coventry High School, Coventry, RI
              Tuesday  May 24, 2016
Girls 4k Hammer Throw (Top 10 – 29 threw)
    Name               Year School             Finals
 1 Annika Kelly         FR Barrington          159-05
 2 Sydney Polando       FR Barrington          145-11
 3 Marissa Henley       FR Woonsocket          120-02
 4 Gabriela Ribeiro     FR Woonsocket          119-06
 5 Anna Orticerio       FR Smithfield          108-07
 6 Michaela Doro        FR E. Providence       102-02
 7 Erynn Field          FR N. Kingstown         96-00
 8 Voski Anmenakyan     FR Toll Gate            94-06
 9 Samantha Butts       FR Woonsocket           93-10
10 Michelle Capani      FR Classical            93-03

Winning series – Kelly:
143-06  149-10  155-03  143-09  159-05  159-01
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *